Award Winners


114th Annual Exhibition


Suzette Wearne

Curator at McClelland Sculpture Park and Gallery



Marion Chapman, Inside Looking Out



Beatrice Magalotti, Sacks





Sarah Anthony, A Long Day




Carole Milton, Autumn in Bright



Lisa O'Keefe, A little Book of Short Stories

Sue Jarvis, The Procession of Mourners

Linda McEwan, Un-shaun the sheep

Vicki Sullivan, Walk on the Wildside

Margaret McLoughlin, Ancient Warrior in Arid Landscape



Annie Davison Oliver Award

2022 Lucy Fekete

2021 Vicki Sullivan

2020 Gwendoline Krumins

2019 Sue Jarvis

2018    Susan Sambell

2017    Beatrice Magalotti

2016    Jo Reitze

2015    Anna Hamnes

2014    Mariette Perrinjaquet

2013    Fiona Bilborough

2012    Gillian Lodge & Roz McQuillan

2011    Annee Kelly

2010    Ev Hales

2009    Louise Foletta

2008    Zoe Amor

2007    Nell Frysteen

2006    Micheline Jones

2005    Angela Abbott

2004    Louise Foletta

2003    Lyndal Thomas

2002    Gwen Batiste

2001    Jo Hannan

2000    Margaret Cowling

1999    Nell Frysteen

Annie Davison Oliver was a long serving Treasurer and Benefactor of MSWPS. Her death in 1997 at the age of 94 ended a long and valuable association of 67 years, in appreciation, MSWPS established this award in her memory.

Valda Cuming Sculpture Award

Valda Cuming OAM served on the MSWPS committee for many years during her 25 years membership of the Society. Valda was widely recognized for her proficiency in sculpture usinga range of materials including wood, ceramic and stone.At the pinnacle of her career in 2019, she was awarded an Order of Australia Medal for services to the arts.

The Valda Cuming Sculpture Award was established by MSWPS in recognition
of her family's bequest and Valda’s impressive achievements.

2022 Gillian Govan

2021 Suzanne Kaldor

Jo Bennett Award for Works on Paper

Jo Bennett joined the Society in 1975 and was an esteemed Life Member. She worked in various capacities on the committee throughout the 1980s and 1990s and was Life Drawing monitor until late in the next decade. She was committed fostering innovation and inquiry.

2022 Ying Tang

Judith Perry Award for Oil or Acrylic

Judith was a stalwart of MSWPS since joining in 1961. She was an esteemed Life Member holding every office including president, treasurer and secretary. she edited The Bulletin for many years and contributed witty and insightful poems. She also prepared 'The Jood Quiz' for Winter and Christmas Luncheons and attended weekly Life Drawing sessions.

2022 Jenny Scholes

The Inaugural MSWPS Sculpture Award 2020

Beatrice Magalotti

Danks Trust Award

2018    Jan Martin

2017    Jo reitze

2016    Barbara McManus

2015    Nell Frysteen

2014    Celia Beeton

2013    Heather Ellis

The Danks Trust Award Honours a MSWPS member for her dedication to art and to acknowledge her high standard of achievement in her work. It is awarded to encourage, reward and foster excellence in individual artistic pursuits undertaken by our women artists. Funded 2013 - 2018.



Constance Wu Award

2018    Susan sambell

2017    Liz Moore Golding & Sue Jarvis

2016    Roz McQuillan

2015    Vicki Sullivan

2014    Marg Gurney

2013    Annie Finkelde

2012    Heather Ellis

The Constance Wu Award was established by Carolyn Yong in memory of her mother, Constance Wu. Awarded 2012 - 2018.

This award was first presented in 2012. It is presented to the artist receiving the most votes from MSWPS members whose works have been shown in the Annual Exhibitions.

This peer evaluated award was initially presented as The Mabel Pryde Prize and later as The MSWPS Award. MSWPS thanks Carolyn for this support.


2022 Beatrice Magalotti

2021 Cynthia Boyle

2020 Anne Melloy, Liz Moore Golding,

Margaret Picken, Erica Wagner (equal votes)

2019  Liz Moore Golding

2011    Annie Finkelde

2010    Ev Hales

2006    Betina Fauvel-Ogden

Mabel Pryde Prize

2008    Betina Fauvel-Ogden

2007    Mariette Perrinjaquet & Jean Carson Gray

2006    Maureen Slatter

2005    Maureen Slatter

2004    Jean Carson Gray

2003    heather Ellis

2002    Mariette Perrinjaquet

2001    Judith Perrey

2000    Joan Richard

1999    Rosemarie Curry

1998    Janet Matthews

1997    Joanne Miles

1996    Valda Cuming

1995    Judith Perrey

1994    Nell Frysteen

1993    Nada Hunter

1993    Jo Hannan

1991    Judith Perrey

1990    Josephine Bennett & Mariette  Perrinjaquet